Friday, June 10, 2016

Absolutely Fabulous: The Movie Soundtrack releases July 22, 2016

Appropriate for their big screen debut, Edina Monsoon and Patsy Stone (Jennifer Saunders and Joanna Lumley) are still oozing glitz and glamour, living the high life they are accustomed to: shopping, drinking and clubbing their way around London's trendiest hotspots. 

But when they accidentally push Kate Moss into the River Thames at an über-fashionable launch party, Eddy and Patsy become entangled in a media storm surrounding the supermodel's untimely demise and are relentlessly pursued by the paparazzi. Fleeing penniless to the glamorous playground of the super-rich, the French Riviera, they hatch a plan to make their escape permanent and live the high life forever more!
'Absolutely Fabulous: The Movie', directed by Mandie Fletcher and produced by Jon Plowman and Damian Jones, is set to be released by Fox Searchlight Pictures in the US on July 22nd, 2016.
To coincide, the accompanying soundtrack will be released in the US on the same day. The album has today been launched with the exciting news that Kylie Minogue has recorded her own unique take on the classic 'Absolutely Fabulous' theme song 'This Wheel's On Fire' which is now available at iTunes and for streaming.
Kylie commented: "As a huge fan of the 'Ab Fab' series and both Jennifer and Joanna, I'm over the moon to be singing the theme song, 'This Wheel's on Fire'." 
Originally written by Bob Dylan and Rick Danko, the theme song became synonymous with the show having been recorded firstly by Julie Driscoll and Adrian Edmondson, and subsequently by Deborah Harry and Edmondson.
In addition to Kylie, the soundtrack also compiles tracks from contemporary pop stars including Jason DeruloPaloma Faith and La Roux; classic material from Serge GainsbourgNancy Sinatra and Leonard Cohen; and live cast recordings of some of the film's most memorable musical moments.
'Absolutely Fabulous: The Movie - The Soundtrack' will be released in the US on digital format only. The digital version can be pre-ordered from iTunes and Apple Music - 'This Wheel's on Fire' is also available as an instant grat track for those who pre-order the full soundtrack.
The tracklisting is:
1.     This Wheel's On Fire - Kylie
2.     Get Ugly - Jason Derulo
3.     Can't Get Enough of Myself - Santigold
4.     Hangin' - Formation
5.     Sexotheque - La Roux
6.     Upright Downtown - La Roux
7.     Bird on a Wire - Leonard Cohen
8.     Ready For The Good Life - Paloma Faith
9.     Le Jeu du Téléphone - Lucky Blondo
10.   Where Do You Go To My Lovely - Peter Sarstedt
11.   Boum - Charles Trenet
12.   At Seventeen (live version) - Julia Sawalha
13.   Jah Jah - Deficio & Lindborg
14.   Big Spender (live version) - Jane Horrocks
15.   MacArthur Park - Nancy Sinatra
16.   C'est Si Bon - Eartha Kitt
17.   Il Est Tout Pour Moi - François Hardy
18.   Je t'aime... moi non plus - Serge Gainsbourg and Jane Birkin
19.   Absolutely Fabulous score suite - Jake Monaco